Pastiche Foundation

Gender Variance made Simple

Breaking news: WA transman assaulted by his own family

Our economy is crap. American families are facing homelessness in numbers not seen since the Great Depression and, like in the Great Depression, we find ourselves returning to family with greater frequency. This can be especially complicated for the individual with gender variance, especially when the transperson’s family is trans-ignorant or downright transphobic.

Friday night, a local transman in this situation (I’ll name him Terry) was visiting a sibling’s home along with the rest of the family when a family member took exception to his declared identity and assaulted him. Terry fought back and was kicked out. While he appears to be physically well, he is shaken–and he now has no job, no home, and his only pair of shoes was broken in the altercation.

I’m hoping you can help him out. I’m taking donations for his needs–food, clothing, shoes, hygiene supplies–and seeking safe shelter and other resources for him. Please help meet Terry’s needs by clicking below!

I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.’Matthew 25:36, The Message

And remember: if you find yourself alone, Call the United Way Helpline, usually 211, or call 866-4-U-Trevor 24/7!

August 26, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment