Pastiche Foundation

Gender Variance made Simple

An Open Letter to Gloria Steinem

Dear Mrs. Steinem,

I grew up in Los Angeles in the 80s, watching you on the news. It shocked and confused me how you could take some thing so seriously, but at the same time I adored you because I knew you could think. You were probably the number one influence on my views on reproductive rights, and you helped me learn there was a whole world out there of thought and opinion. Thank you so much for these things.

I was disturbed this morning to find this on the web: Excerpts from ‘If Men Could Menstruate’. The way it was rehashed made it seem best suited to the compost heap, til I noticed it was a link to the full essay here, published when I was barely out of diapers. The full essay is rich, hilarious and somewhat correct.

As a man who has menstruated, though, I would like to clear a few things up.

  • Not all men are the same… some would indeed make it the new d!*% measuring contest, but I personally found it horrific. Several times the distress was so great that despite my knowledge of veins and arteries in the area, I became tempted to commit home surgery on the offending organ.
  • I think the National Institute of Dysmenorrhea ought absolutely be founded! I support this wholeheartedly, and think those who menstruate deserve extra days off if they want them.

What do you suppose tampons would look like? I suppose they’d be much the same, just a little longer. Of course, would straight genetic men be comfortable using them? If they chose napkins, how would that change mens fashion? Would we be the ones wearing the skirts? (hey that might be fun…)

Anyway, thank you for being there for the young queer boy who grew up in a conservative small town and dearly cherished your voice as a promise that things didn’t have to be the way they were then.

Sincerely,

Lance Worth

May 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

