Pastiche Foundation

Gender Variance made Simple

An Open Letter To My Pastor

This post is a continuation of some difficult conversations I’m having with my pastor. I love my church–I see God transforming hearts and minds, but the  plaque “Be Patient–God isn’t finished with me yet” would be a gift I would give to many members of the congregation. I am proud of this email, and felt it might be helpful to other Trans/Gay Christians.

Awhile back, I misstated that god wants us to be happy. What I was attempting to reference was this:

John 10:10 (The Message)

6-10Jesus told this simple story, but they had no idea what he was talking about. So he tried again. “I’ll be explicit, then. I am the Gate for the sheep. All those others are up to no good—sheep stealers, every one of them. But the sheep didn’t listen to them. I am the Gate. Anyone who goes through me will be cared for—will freely go in and out, and find pasture. A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of.

God wants us to have ‘more and better life than we’ve dreamed of.’ Jesus said so. He said that his death and resurrection made a new covenant:

Luke 22:20 (The Message)

20He [Jesus] did the same with the cup after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant written in my blood, blood poured out for you.

So we’ve got this new deal. What does that mean?

Galatians 3:28 (The Message)

In Christ’s Family
28-29In Christ’s family there can be no division into Jew and non-Jew, slave and free, male and female. Among us you are all equal. That is, we are all in a common relationship with Jesus Christ. Also, since you are Christ’s family, then you are Abraham’s famous “descendant,” heirs according to the covenant promises.

With me so far? Good.

From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trajectory_Hermeneutics :

Trajectory hermeneutics or redemptive-movement hermeneutics is a liberal teaching in postmodern Christianity that parts of the Bible can have progressive, different meanings as a culture unfolds, advances, and matures.”

One teaching under this view is that homosexuality was once a sin but has become acceptable due to cultural changes and advances in understanding of psychology and the social sciences. Proponents of trajectory hermeneutics may point to Romans 1:18-32 [1] and explain that Paul has always been speaking to those who violate their sexual orientation, those that go against their natural desire. But a homosexual’s natural desire is for the same sex, which is now defended as natural.

I should point out the above was written by a personal friend years ago… he’s a heterosexual Christian man who is neither a proponent of Trajectory Hermeneutics nor has personal comfort with homosexuality and Christianity going together…. however he’s rather a scholar and I go to him often because he’s able to discuss things from a fact perspective without getting too heated.

I do support Trajectory Hermeneutics, at least as I understand it. Consider the Leviticus controversy: Shrimp cocktail, polyester, casserole, touching menstruating women. We know that these things are perfectly safe with modern hygiene and food safety, and that polyester’s a crime against fashion, not against god–I KID! Seriously, though, God wants us to have life in abundance and logic dictates that the ‘abominations’ were primarily health-related (except for meat of idols, which was also undone due to famine) in nature.

Referencing the Trajectory Hermeneutics reference: if I understand my biblical anthropology correctly, the only reason a man would sleep with a man or boy ‘against their natural desire’ would be to please the Romans, which is contrary to:

Romans 12:2 (The Message)

Romans 12

Place Your Life Before God
1-2 So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

Well, the only reason I can see for homosexuality being an abomination (besides the example above), is hygiene. We now have condoms that help to prevent disease, hygiene and medicine that reduce infection, and ease of monogamy (assuming this is a defining characteristic of God-led relationships). Success of long-term monogamous relationships is increased by acceptance and equality–after all, if enough people tell you you’re bad to feel the way you do, you’re only going to act on it in secret, am I right?

Anyway, my point–and I do have one–is that biblically speaking, no one may consider me inferior in the church by virtue of either my gender or sexuality. Therefore I deserve equal protection, access, and dignity in the church. I am not asking to be set above, and as I said, I will use the unisex loo for now… but I do feel that there needs to be some conscious conversation about respect for diversity of all sorts as well as, perhaps, some sort of ‘comprehending diversity within the Church’ initiative as part of the love and compassion we must develop as followers of Christ.

May 1, 2009 - Posted by | Gay LGBT GLBT Christian Jesus God Equality Compassion Diversity Respect Conscious Conversation, Transition Ftm Transmen Transman Transgender Transsexual | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

