Pastiche Foundation

Gender Variance made Simple

A beautiful moment in my life

me: OMG OMGOMG
gorewh0r3: yes?
me: so i am taking Family Communication and I write a weekly essay for it
Last week’s essay, I came out as a transman to my professor
her feedback:

Pastiche,

You can’t know how much I appreciate your candor. I’m sure this was not an easy essay for you to write and I applaud you for it. You have done an amazing job describing the process of this conflict. I’m so happy to hear that David is such a wonderful support for you! I wish you nothing but the best and hope your journey is filled with joy.

Thanks again,

Tina

gorewh0r3: wow
HOLY SH!+ THAT’S AWESOME
me: I KNOW!!!!
esp since i had constructed my essays previous in ways that reframed experiences
gorewh0r3: d00d
me: i know right?!

April 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Haha awesome! It’s always so fulfilling when professors and other people you respect respect you in turn when you open up like this.

    Comment by gorewh0r3 | April 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks love…. you know that you’re part of my SOFFA team, and part of why I could do this, don’t you?

      PS Thanks for using the same moniker ha, you are super cool as always.

      Comment by projectpastiche | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Epic win! Luckily, my professors have been supportive, but very few are as supportive as this one seems to be. Hope this is the start of a trend in respectful professors for you.

    Comment by Michael | April 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey again,

      I understand completely. I can think of several of my professors that i would not DARE to come out to. The phrase “Bad Things Happen” doesn’t begin to cover. I was terrified to turn the essay in, but I had to try… authenticity makes deeper work happen….

      Comment by projectpastiche | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey there ..all i can say is WOW. and remind you that how others see you in the world reflects on how the world views others like you. and if this is any preview. things for you are indeed looking well. when all else fails ..Remember the man in the arena.

    it is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.

    Comment by DrNickydafin | April 15, 2009 | Reply

    • My consistent positive performance in that class was in fact a comfort factor in coming out. I don’t think i’d care to do it if I were getting a C or lower, because I feel I would be crossing my own ethical boundaries (since I am capable of straight A work, I highly doubt a C would mean a class were too hard). Bad time to reveal intimate things like this.

      Comment by projectpastiche | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

